Choco Chip Cookies

27 Feb

finished cookies2

So…Here it is.  My first recipe posting.  Pardon my awkwardness as I get into this blogging groove!

Let me set the scene: it’s Monday and I’m home from work.  The husband has class, so I’m home alone for the evening.  And I’m in the mood to bake (this is no surprise, really).  I’ve got a bag of chocolate chips, flour and sugar on the shelf, and a stick of butter just begging to be transformed into something wonderful.

Well, Mr. Stick of Butter, I’ve got just the place for you…

Cookie Dough3

It seems only fitting to kick off this blog with the classic of all classic American desserts: the beloved CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE.  I’ve made this recipe numerous times, and it never fails me.  I love the nuttiness and heartiness (and bit of nutritional benefit!) that the oats and whole wheat flour provide, and I can adapt the add-ins to my mood and whatever I happen to find in my pantry.

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED: 

Ingredients

**Follow the French and get your Mise en Place before you start mixing!  This means, gather each ingredient and measure out what you’ll need—you won’t forget an ingredient, and you won’t be hastily rummaging through the cupboard for your can of baking powder and knock your glass bottle of vanilla extract onto the counter, shattering glass into your mixer full of butter and sugar.  Trust me on this one.**

  • 1 stick (4 oz.) butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar (I typically use ½ brown and ½ regular cane sugar)
  • 1 egg
  • Vanilla (the original recipe calls for ½ tsp.  Admittedly, I never measure my vanilla—a gentle splash does it for me)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 ¼ cups old fashioned oats (to make oat flour)
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • Dash of cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • ¾ cup chopped nuts (walnuts and pecans are perfect here…optional, but highly recommended)

TOOLS:

  • Mixer (hand or stand) and bowlStandard flat beater attachment.
  • Food Processor (I like my Mini Prep for this)
  • Medium bowl
  • Rubber Spatula
  • Cookie Scoop (I used a 1 oz size and got about 18 cookies)
  • 2 Baking Sheets

HERE’S WHAT TO DO:

  1. Gather all ingredients (see note above!)
  2. Grind oats in food processor to a coarse flour (a few noticeable oats are okay, in my opinion)
  3. Combine oats with flour, baking powder and soda, salt, and cinnamon in medium bowl.  Set aside.
  4. Cream butter and sugar together on medium-high speed until the mix becomes pale and fluffy.
  5. Add egg and vanilla and beat to combine, making sure to scrape down the batter from the edge of the bowl.
  6. On low speed, slowly add in the dry ingredients. Mix until well-combined.
    Add in chocolate chips and nuts.  Mix briefly to combine.
  7. Scoop 1 oz. dough onto cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart (a bit less if your cookies are smaller).
  8. At this point, I chill my cookie dough in the fridge for about an hour.  I’ve found this helps the cookies keep their shape and not spread too much in the oven.
  9. While the dough is chilling, preheat your oven to 375F.
  10. Remove the dough from the fridge and rest on counter for 5-10 minutes.
  11. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until golden brown on top (rotate your pans halfway through to ensure even baking).
  12. Eat one fresh out of the oven.  Contemplate another.  Then share the rest with your love, your kiddos, or maybe even that crabby neighbor of yours.

TIPS:

  • Butter:  I use Whole Foods 365 Brand Unsalted Butter.  Let it come to room temperature (it will give a bit when you press your finger into it).  If I’m in a rush, I’ll warm in the microwave on 50% power for about 30 seconds.
  • Whole Wheat Flour: I LOVE King Arthur Flour White Whole Wheat Flour.  It’s not as “whole wheaty” (read: dense, earthy) as others I’ve used—much closer to normal All-Purpose, but with a bit of added nutrition.  I always have a bag on hand.
  • Choco Chips: I ALWAYS use Ghirardelli semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate chips.  Nestle Tollhouse chips just don’t do it for me.  I’ve found that Ghirardelli produces the richest, most chocolaty product (FYI, they make the BEST brownies….recipe to come soon).  Their cocoa is great, too.
  • Variations:
    • Use ½ bittersweet and ½ white chocolate chips.
    • Use chopped almonds for the nuts and reduce to ½ cup, then add ½ cup shredded coconut for an Almond Joy-style cookie
    • White chocolate chips and dried cranberries (omit the cinnamon, add zest of one orange)
    • Use ½ cup chocolate chips, ½ cup raisins, and ¾ cup walnuts for an Oatmeal Raisin cookie.

     

Enjoy! 

Lorie

2 Responses to “Choco Chip Cookies”

  1. Rhiannon February 27, 2013 at 6:23 PM #

    Mmmm delicious! Loving the photo

  2. Abbey February 27, 2013 at 8:28 PM #

    mouth is now watering… and i thought i might skip dessert tonight?? not so sure now…

Tell Me More...

